- Center for Ethical Practice - https://centerforethicalpractice.org -

CE REQUIREMENTS

 

CE REQUIREMENTS FOR CENTER WORKSHOPS:

Continuing Education Certificates will be awarded only to participants who attend entire workshops and complete the required evaluation form. Certificates will be awarded after we have received a participant’s completed course evaluation form.

CE credits deadline for license renewal for some Virginia clinicians has been extended until June 2021 due to the COVID-19 Pandemic. See links below for specific information for your licensing board.

CE REQUIREMENTS FOR RENEWAL OF VIRGINIA LICENSE:

CE requirements for renewal of licenses for Virginia mental health professionals are summarized below. For complete regulations of Virginia Licensing Boards (including Practice Standards) use links:

Virginia Board of Counseling
http://www.virginia.gov/counseling/counseling_laws_regs.htm [1]

Continuing Education Requirement:
Licensed counselors must complete a minimum of 20 hours of continuing competency
for each annual licensure renewal. A minimum of two (2) of these hours shall be in courses that emphasize the ethics, standards of practice or laws governing behavioral science professions in Virginia.
Link to CE Extension Announcement by Board of Counseling [2]


Virginia Board of Psychology
http://www.virginia.gov/psychology/psychology_laws_regs.htm [3]

Continuing Education Requirement:
Licensed psychologists must complete a minimum of 14 hours of board-approved continuing education courses each year for annual licensure renewal. A minimum of 1.5 of these hours shall be in courses that emphasize the ethics, standards of practice or laws governing the profession of psychology.
Link to CE Extension Announcement by Board of Psychology [4]


Virginia Board of Social Work
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/social/social_laws_regs.htm [5]

Continuing Education Requirement: 

Licensed clinical social workers shall be required to have completed a minimum of 30 contact hours of continuing education and licensed social workers shall be required to have completed a minimum of 15 contact hours of continuing education for each biennial licensure renewal. Courses or activities shall be directly related to the practice of social work or another behavioral health field. A minimum of two of those hours must pertain to ethics or the standards of practice for the behavioral health professions or to laws governing the practice of social work in Virginia.
Link to CE Extension Announcement by Board of Social Work [6]